To touch a child for the purposes of sexual gratification is often referred to as “lewd and lascivious conduct.” Under California Penal Code Section 288, this crime can be prosecuted as either a felony or misdemeanor. Generally, lewd and lascivious conduct charges occur when the victim is under 14 years of age.
Lewd and lascivious conduct with a minor is a serious crime with serious consequences. If you are convicted of lascivious acts with a child under PC 288(a), you face three, six, or eight years in state prison and a fine of $10,000. But there are also some additional penalties you could face if you are convicted of this crime.
Additional Consequences of Lewd and Lascivious Acts with a Minor (PC 288)
Because lewd and lascivious acts with a minor is a serious offense, there are a number of repercussions that you could face beyond a jail sentence and fines. These consequences include:
- A felony charge can result in a strike on your criminal record under California’s Three Strikes Law
- You may be required to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life under PC 290
- You may have your picture and information posted for the public to see on the Megan’s Law website
- An additional five years in state prison may be added to any existing sentence if it is shown that the victim suffered great bodily injury