Under California Penal Code section 243.4, it is unlawful for you to touch an intimate part of another person against his or her will for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or sexual abuse.
In order to convict you of sexual battery in California, the prosecution will have to prove all of the following:
• You touched an intimate part of another person
• You touched the other person against their will
• You touched this person for the specific purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse
The sentencing for a sexual battery conviction depends upon whether or not the crime is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Misdemeanor Sexual Battery
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, you could face up to 6 months in county jail and up to a $2,000 fine.
Felony Sexual Battery
If you are convicted of a felony, you could face up to 2, 3, or 4 years in county jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
Regardless of whether you are convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, the court could require you to register as a sex offender pursuant to Penal Code Section 290.
Being convicted of sexual battery will negatively affect your life and damage your reputation in your community. You will need an experienced defense attorney fighting on your behalf.
The Riverside criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich has been successfully representing clients accused of sexual battery for over thirty years. We understand that you will need our legal support and guidance through this difficult process.
Let us guide you through these complex criminal proceedings. Call us today at (888) 280-6839. We have offices in Los Angeles, Riverside, Ventura, San Bernardino and Orange County. We will be there when you call.