It was recently reported that a Riverside woman has been charged in a hit-and-run death of a bicyclist. Patricia Ann Izquieta, age 37, allegedly struck a bicyclist in her SUV. Izquieta allegedly fled the scene dragging the bicycle under her car for over a mile. Izquieta was allegedly under the influence of prescription drugs. Izquieta is charged with one felony count of hit and run causing a death, one felony count of vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, and one misdemeanor count of driving without a valid license.
Hit-and-run causing a death is a serious crime in California. Under California Vehicle Code section 20001, the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident must immediately stop at the scene and provide his or her information to the police officer on the scene of the accident, or to the occupants of the other vehicle if requested. More importantly, a felony conviction for hit-and-run causing death is punishable by imprisonment in state prison for up to four years and a fine of up to $10,000. A person who flees the scene of the crime after committing vehicular manslaughter while under the influence of a drug or alcohol is punishable by an additional five years in state prison.
If you or a loved one is facing charges for a hit and run or any other serious crime in Riverside, contact our Riverside criminal defense attorneys at Wallin and Klarich. Wallin & Klarich will help protect your rights and find the best defense strategy for your case. For over 30 years, our attorneys have been helping clients get probation or community service in lieu of jail time. Please call us at (888) 280-6839 or visit our website at www.wklaw.com. We will be there when you call.