California’s stance on gun control is changing drastically. Several new laws that were recently passed place more restrictions on how guns and firearms are handled. Governor Jerry Brown recently signed these six new stricter gun control bills into law. Brown sees the new laws as a way to improve public safety while also protecting the rights of current law-abiding gun owners.
Restrictions on Ammunition
Two of the new laws involve restrictions on owning and purchasing ammunition. Senate Bill (SB) 1235 requires those who purchase ammunition for guns to undergo a background and driver’s license check. Purchasing ammunition would enter the buyer into a database that is monitored by the Department of Justice.
Those prohibited from purchasing ammunition would be flagged in the database when attempting to buy ammunition. Businesses that sell ammunition would have to be licensed. A person or business who violates this law is guilty of a misdemeanor and faces a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 364 days in county jail.
SB 1446 makes it illegal for a person to have a gun or firearm magazine that holds more than ten rounds. Starting July 1, 2017, anyone who owns a magazine capable of holding more than ten rounds would need to either sell the magazine to someone outside of California or to a licensed firearm dealer, turn the magazine over to police, or destroy it.
Failure to get rid of the magazine would result in a fine of up to $100 for the first offense. A second offense is punishable by a fine of up to $250, and a third offense by up to $500.
Closing the Loophole
Some of the new laws are meant to close a “bullet button loophole.” California previously banned the sale of guns with detachable magazines. However, gun manufacturers were able to get around the law by creating firearms where an empty magazine could be released with the press of a button through the use of a small tool, like a bullet.
These weapons will now be considered “assault” weapons under SB 880 and Assembly Bill (AB) 1135. Assault weapons are now considered semi-automatic rifles or pistols with magazines that could easily be detached and reinserted using a bullet button. If you own an assault rifle after January 1, 2017, you face felony charges that carry a punishment of up to 364 days in jail.
AB 1511 limits who a person can loan a firearm to. Firearms can now only be loaned to immediate relatives, spouses, or domestic partners. It was previously possible to loan a firearm to someone you knew personally for no longer than 30 days.
AB 1695 makes it a misdemeanor to falsely report that your firearm was stolen. If you falsely report a stolen firearm, you are banned from buying another firearm for ten years. If you possess a firearm within this ten-year ban, you face up to 364 days in custody and up to a $1,000 fine.
Contact the Criminal Defense Attorneys at Wallin & Klarich
Have you or a loved one been accused of violating California gun laws? You should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney today. At Wallin & Klarich, our skilled defense attorneys have over 35 years of experience advising our clients and successfully defending them against criminal gun charges.
With offices in Los Angeles, Orange County, Riverside, San Diego, San Bernardino, Sherman Oaks, Torrance, Ventura, Victorville, and West Covina, you can find a dedicated Wallin & Klarich attorney available to help you no matter where you work or live.
Call us at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (877) 466-5245 for a free phone consultation. We will get through this together.