A charge for a second DUI in Newport Beach can carry significant consequences if it occurs within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction. Most significantly, a charge for a second DUI in Newport Beach may result in imprisonment in county jail for up to one year and/or a fine up to $1000. A court may also require you to participate in a driving under the influence program that will last from 18 months to 30 months.
Another frequent consequence of a second DUI charge is the loss of your California Driver License. If you are charged with a second DUI within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction, the court will subject you to a two-year suspension of your California Driver License. Further, the DMV may also suspend your license for one year if you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test of if your blood alcohol is measured above the .08 legal limit. A suspension imposed by the DMV and a suspension imposed by the court are separately enforced; however the total suspension period may not exceed two years.
Both the DMV suspension and the court suspension of your California Driver License can be challenged. In order to prevent a suspension of your license you must win at the DMV hearing and then must have the DUI charge reduced. To ensure your California driving privileges are not suspended it is important that you contact a competent Newport Beach DUI defense attorney.
Wallin & Klarich has been successfully helping those charged with a DUI in Newport Beach for over 30 years. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich are highly skilled and knowledgeable and can assist you to achieve the best possible result in your DUI case. Call us today at 1-888-280-6839 or visit our website www.wklawdui.com. We will be there when you call.