New Jersey Teachers Arrested for Sex Charges

By: Wallin & Klarich

Sex between teachers and students usually ends up ugly. This case will be no exception. California law allows consensual sex between adults that are 18 years of age or older. Some of these alleged victims from New Jersey were 17 years old. California law prohibits sex with a child under the age of 18. If merely intercourse is alleged, it does not require registration as a sex offender if convicted.

Other forms of sex (oral copulation or digital penetration) with a 16 or 17 year old may not be registrable either under current California case law. Of course these teachers face a host of other administrative issues with the school district and perhaps the credentialing board in New Jersey. These cases are particularly difficult due to the position of trust teachers are placed in while teaching our children.

Wallin and Klarich have been defending teachers successfully for over 32 years. We represent teachers from the California Teachers Association (CTA). We have developed a strong reputation for being aggressive while conducting thorough and complete investigations on all our cases. School campuses can become a “fish tank of rumors” that need to be dispelled. We use experinced investigators to interview students and teachers in order to get to the truth. The stakes are enormous for these teachers and they deserve competent and aggressive representation.

If you or your loved one has been charged with a sex crime, call us now at 888-280-6839. We have offices in San Bernardino, Riverside, Los Angeles, Ventura and Orange County. Call us now for a free consultation. We will be there when you call. Visit us at www.wklaw.com

Posted In: Sex Offenses