Under California law, the court must impose a suspension, or delay of driving privileges on minors who are convicted of being drunk in public. A conviction mandates the court to impose a one year license suspension, or delay the acquisition of a license, for a person 13 years of age up to 21 years of age.
California Penal Code Section 647(f), states any person “who is found in any public place under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, controlled substance, in a condition that he or she is unable to exercise care for his or her own safety or the safety of others, or interferes with or obstructs or prevents the free use of any street, sidewalk, or other public way”, is guilty of a misdemeanor.
What other punishments does a person charged with Penal Code Section 647(f) face if convicted?
In addition the suspension of driving privileges, or delay in the issuance of a driver’s license, a minor who is convicted of a misdemeanor for public intoxication also faces jail time, probation, and fines and fees. A person convicted of this penal code section faces up to six-months in a county jail, and a maximum fine of $1000. Moreover, if prosecutors convict you of your third “drunk in public” offense within a twelve-month period, you face a minimum 90-day county jail sentence
Hiring an experienced criminal defense law firm can greatly increase your chances of keeping your license. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been helping people keep their license for over 30 years.
Please feel free to contact Wallin & Klarich to discuss your case. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 877-466-5245 or go to our website at www.wklaw.com for more information.