FacebookTwitterLinkedInJustiaGoogle+Feed

Published on:

If convicted of a DUI in Orange County; do I have to take alcohol class??

Almost universally in California; courts will require defendants who are convicted of a DUI in Los Angeles to take a state approved alcohol education course. In addition, the California DMV requires the enrollment in a state approved alcohol education course before a licensee can get their driving privileges back, once they’ve been convicted of a DUI. Below is a summary of the different courses one will have to take; depending upon the circumstances of their conviction, and if they’ve had priors.

• For a first time offender, with Blood Alcohol Concentration of .14% or less; the defendant has to enroll and complete AB 541. AB 541 is a 3 month course which meets once a week for 2 hours.

• For a first time offender, with Blood Alcohol Concentration between .15% and .19%; the defendant has to enroll and complete AB 762. AB 762 is a 6 month course which meets once a week for 2 hours. This program can also be ordered by the court if you were under a .15% BAC, but were involved in a collision when your DUI occurred.

• For a first time offender, with Blood Alcohol Concentration of .20% or more; the defendant has to enroll and complete AB 1353. AB 1353 is a 9 month course which meets once a week for 2 hours.

• For a second or subsequent offender- the court will order you to attend SB 38. SB 38 is an 18 month program that includes group counseling, individual counseling, AA meeting, and bi-weekly interviews.

Having the right lawyer can help in how your case is negotiated. For instance, there are times when a defendant with a .17% BAC can get the ok from the DA to only attend the 3 month AB 541 as opposed to the 6 month AB 762.

If you or a loved one have been charged with a DUI contact the experienced Southern California criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich. We’ve have been helping criminal defendants for over 30 years. Call us at (888) 280-6839 or visit us at www.wklaw.com.

Published on:
Updated:

About Wallin & Klarich

partnersfooter

Wallin & Klarich was established in 1981. Over the past 32 years, our law firm has helped tens of thousands of families in their time of legal need. Regardless of whether our clients faced criminal or DUI charges, the loss of their driving privilege, or wanted to clean up their criminal record, we have been there to help them.