Property that is taken unlawfully that is valued at $950 or less is considered petty theft under California Penal Code Sections 484-488. Theft that exceeds $950 is Grand Theft.
Stealing and taking away another’s property without that person’s consent is property theft. Most commonly, people who commit shoplifting can be charged with petty theft if the value involved is $950 or less. Another type of theft within this code section includes something that is entrusted to someone who then takes it without the owner’s consent in such cases where there is an employer-employee relationship.
Petty theft punishment includes a fine of no more than $1000, or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding 6 months or both.
Grand theft punishment is county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison unless it was a theft of a firearm which is imprisonment in state prison for 16 months, 2, or 3 years.
If you or someone you love has been accused of a crime in California, contact the experienced San Bernardino criminal defense attorneys at Wallin & Klarich today at 1-888-280-6839 or visit the website at www.wklaw.com for a consultation of your case.