If a person is granted probation for a domestic violence crime, California Penal Code Section 1203.097 lists the conditions of probation that must be given. The list below shows some of the conditions that may have a significant impact on a person’s life:
1. A minimum period of probation of 36 months 2. A criminal court protective order protecting the victim from further acts of violence, threats, stalking, sexual abuse, and harassment, and, if appropriate, containing residence exclusion or stay-away conditions 3. Notice to the victim of the disposition of the case
4. Successful completion of a 52 week batterer’s program 5. The court also shall order the defendant to perform a specified amount of appropriate community service, as designated by the court
These are only a few of the mandatory conditions of probation for a domestic violence crime. Under California Family Code Section 6211, the mandatory conditions of probation include crimes where the victim is a spouse or former spouse, a cohabitant or former cohabitant, a person with whom the defendant is having or has had a dating or engagement relationship, a person with whom the respondent has had a child, a child of a party, any other person related by kinship.
If you or a loved one is facing a charge of domestic violence, it is important that you speak with an experienced domestic violence attorney. At Wallin & Klarich, our Southern California domestic violence attorneys have over 30 years of experience. We will aggressively fight to get you the best possible result. We will inform you of the penalty you are facing and the conditions of probation that could be given. Call us today at (888) 280-6839 or contact us through our website at www.wklawdomesticviolence.com. We will be there when you call.