Have you been convicted of a Felony in California, or been convicted of a Felony or Misdemeanor sex offense that requires you to register as a sex offender? If so, you may not have to carry the weight of your past on your shoulders anymore. With a Certificate of Rehabilitation, you can move on with your life.
A Certificate of Rehabilitation is a court order declaring that a person convicted of a Felony is now rehabilitated. Generally, if you were convicted of a Felony, and you still reside in California, you can hire a skilled criminal California defense attorney to assist you in filing a petition for a Certificate of Rehabilitation, provided that you the meet requirements of demonstrated rehabilitation, which are required by law.
If you were convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor sex offense, which requires you to register as a sex offender, and that felony or misdemeanor sex offense was dismissed under Penal Code section 1203.4; and, you are no longer in custody, or on parole, or probation, and you have not been incarcerated since your release, and you are not on probation for any other offense, and you have continuously resided in California for 5 years, you are eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.
If you were convicted of a felony after May 13, 1943, and you were sentenced to state prison and you were discharged from custody or released on parole, and you have continuously resided in California for 5 years, you are eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation.
The period of rehabilitation begins to run upon your discharge from incarceration or upon your release on probation or on parole. The period of rehabilitation requires 5 years residence in California, PLUS:
- 4 years if you were convicted of Penal Code section 187, 209, 219, 4500, or 12310, or Millitary & Veterans Code section 1672(a), or any other offense that carries a life sentence; or
- 5 years for any person convicted of any offense for which sex offender registration is required under Penal Code section 290, except for convictions for violations of subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of section 311.2 or of section 311.3, 311.10, or 314 (these convictions require an additional two years); or
- 2 years for any person convicted of any offense not listed above and that does not carry a life sentence.
Persons who are not eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation are those who were convicted of non-sex related misdemeanor offenses; those who were convicted of sex offenses under Penal Code sections 286(c), 288, 288a(c), 288.5, or 289(j); those who are serving a mandatory life parole; those committed to prison under a death sentence; or those persons in the military service.
Call Wallin & Klarich today at 888-280-6839 and let us take the weight of your past off your shoulders by assisting you in the best way possible in obtaining a Certificate of Rehabilitation.