I AM ACCUSED OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, WHERE DO I FIND A DOMESTIC VIOLENCE DEFENSE ATTORNEY?
One of the most notorious penalties for a domestic violence conviction is mandatory counseling. If you are granted probation after a domestic violence conviction, the court must order you to at least a year of a “batterer’s program,” which means weekly classes of at least two hours each. These programs are designed to stop future domestic violence by teaching participants to walk away from fights or express their anger in a nonviolent way. They use conventional classes, group therapy, individual counseling and other methods. With limited exceptions, the law says you cannot skip these classes, or your probation will be revoked and you could be sent to prison or jail.
You must pay for these domestic violence classes out of your own pocket if the court believes you can afford to. (The court uses a sliding scale to determine how much you can afford.) Probation will not be lifted until you successfully complete the program — to the satisfaction of the court and your parole officer — and until you finish making payments. If your parole officer, the prosecution or the court is not happy with your progress, they can order you to more classes — or revoke your probation and send you to jail or prison.
In addition to these domestic violence classes, the court may also sentence you to enter alcohol or drug counseling, if it believes substance abuse was a factor in the crime. This could mean outpatient therapy, Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous meetings or even inpatient rehab. If you are in these programs, you may be subject to regular or random drug testing, to ensure that you’re following the program. And like the batterers’ programs, these substance abuse programs require mandatory attendance and a performance that satisfies the court and probation officer in your case.
Speak with a Domestic Violence Attorney Today
At Wallin & Klarich, we believe everyone accused of a crime deserves an aggressive and complete defense, no matter what the charge. We have practiced law in California for more than 30 years, and in that time, we’re proud to say we’ve successfully defended thousands of clients. Thanks to our experience, we know California domestic violence law very well, and we know the courts that will hear your case, because we work with them regularly. We also know that facing criminal charges is extremely stressful, so we make sure someone is always available to take our clients’ calls — 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year.
With offices in Los Angeles, Sherman Oaks, Torrance, Tustin, San Diego, Riverside, San Bernardino, Ventura, West Covina and Victorville, there is an experienced Wallin & Klarich criminal defense attorney near you no matter where you work or live.
Call us today at (888) 280-6839 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call.