With the Labor Day weekend approaching, motorists are being warned to not let their “end-of-summer celebrations” draw to a close with a DUI arrest. Law enforcement agencies throughout California and the United States for that matter will be cracking down on drunk driving in California during the weeks leading up to Labor Day. They will be using additional federal traffic safety funds to step-up their patrols and will specifically be looking to take drunk drivers off the road.
The penalties for a DUI can be very harsh and expensive. In California, the DMV can move for license suspension for 4 months for a first offense and 1 year for a second or subsequent offense within the last ten years. Meanwhile, the Court can require you to spend between 48 hours to 6 months in jail for a first offense and between 10 days to one year for a second offense within the last ten years! Moreover, the Court can impose a fine anywhere from $390.00 to $1,000.00, and can add additional fees to these fines, making the total amount of money owed several thousands of dollars (and your car insurance rates will probably go through the roof as well).
So be careful and be smart: do not drink and drive. However, if you or your loved ones find yourselves caught-up in the middle of a DUI, call Wallin and Klarich immediately! Wallin and Klarich has been in the business of helping people with their DUI and other criminal matters for over 30 years! We have experienced knowledgeable attorneys available to answer your calls 7 days a week, 24 hour a day! Call us at 888.280.6839 and visit our website, www.wklawdui.com.