April 2, 2008 By Wallin & Klarich

Usually if someone over 18 is caught smoking weed with someone under 18, they will be charged with the misdemeanor crime of contributing to the delinquency of a minor.

However lately the District Attorney’s office has been choosing to punish the exact same act with felony consequences. The same act of contributing to the delinquency of a minor can also be charged as a felony, Health and Safety code 11361 (b)(1) which is furnishing Marijuana to a minor.

The code says that if someone is found to administer, furnish, sell, or offer to furnish, administer, or sell marijuana to someone under the age of 18, they will face felony charges.

Furthermore the minimum sentence to this charge is 3 years.

This means smoking a small joint with your kid brother or sister could land you in jail for 3 years, and that is only the minimum sentence.

Contact Us
  •   17592 Irvine Blvd,
      Tustin, CA 92780
  •   (714) 730-5300
  •   (888) 280-6839
SCHEDULE YOUR free consultation

If you or a loved one have been accused of a crime, this is the time to contact us.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Copyright © 2024 Wallin & Klarich - All rights reserved

California Criminal Defense Lawyer Disclaimer: The legal information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice, nor should it be considered the formation of a lawyer or attorney-client relationship. Any case results presented on the site are based upon the facts of a particular case and do not represent a promise or guarantee. The contents of this website may contain legal advertising. If you would like to find out more information about your particular legal matter, contact our office for a free telephonic consultation. This web site is not intended to solicit clients for matters outside of the state of California.