To touch a child for the purposes of sexual gratification is often referred to as “lewd and lascivious conduct.” Codified in the California Penal Code §288, this crime is prosecuted as either a felony or misdemeanor and is generally charged when the victim is under 14 years of age
Although this is a serious offense, there are a number of repercussions that can result beyond a jail sentence and fines:
• A felony charge can result in a strike for the purposes of California’s Three Strikes Law.
• Offenders may be required to register with local authorities as a sex offender for the rest of their lives pursuant to Penal Code 290.
• Offenders may also have their picture and information available to the public online pursuant to Megan’s Law.
• An additional five years in state prison may be added to any existing sentence if it is shown that the victim suffered great bodily injury.
You should not face a serious allegation such as child molestation without an experienced sex crimes attorney fighting for you. Our attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been in practice for over 30 years and can help you achieve the best possible result in your case. Call us today at 888-280-6839 or visit us online at www.wklaw.com. We will be there for you when you call.