How Can A Child Annoyance Charge Under Penal Code 647.6 Be A Felony In California?
Penal code section 647.6 in California, commonly referred to as “child annoyance”, is typically charged as a misdemeanor offense and if convicted can result in a one year county jail sentence and lifetime registration as a sex offender. Needless to say, it is a very serious misdemeanor charge that can have a devastating impact on anybody convicted of this offense.
A person can be convicted of this crime as a misdemeanor for engaging in conduct toward a child under the age of 18 that is motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the child. Someone can also be convicted of this crime as a misdemeanor for engaging in the same conduct toward an adult that they believe to be a child under the age of 18.
Although this charge is typically a misdemeanor, there are circumstances where this crime can be charged as a felony.
1. This crime can be charged as felony where the person engages in the prohibited conduct after entering and inhabited dwelling or trailer coach without consent
2. This crime can also be charged as a felony against a person who has previously been convicted of any one of a variety of sex crimes that involved a minor or if the person has previously been convicted of this very crime in the past.
Anyone convicted of child annoyance as a felony in California could be facing up to 6 years in state prison. If you or s loved one is facing such charges you need an attorney who will work hard for you. With over 30 years of experience defending individuals against sex crime charges, the attorneys at Wallin & Klarich can help you win your case. Call us today at 888-280-6839 or visit our website at www.wklaw.com. We will be there when you call.