Under California Law, A Person Convicted Of Reckless Driving With An Injury Will Face Mandatory Jail Sentence
In California, certain code sections require mandatory minimum punishments. One such code section, is the vehicle code section dealing with reckless driving, resulting in an injury .
Reckless driving in California is codified in the Vehicle Code under Section 23104. An individual is guilty of this offense “whenever reckless driving of a vehicle proximately causes bodily injury to a person other than the driver.”
A conviction will result in a minimum 30 day jail sentence. The 30 day jail sentence is the minimum the sentence the court must impose. Depending on the circumstances, the prosecutor or court may impose a longer sentence.
In addition jail time, the court and Department of Motor Vehicles will can also suspend or revoke the convicted person’s driving privileges.
Hiring an experienced criminal defense law firm can greatly increase your chances of keeping your license. The attorneys at Wallin & Klarich have been helping people keep their license for over 30 years.
Please feel free to contact Wallin & Klarich to discuss your case. You can reach us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 877-466-5245 or go to our website at www.wklaw.com for more information.